December 15, 2016 COUNCIL MEETING

Following the Pledge of Allegiance and a brief invocation, the Apollo Borough council meeting was called to order by Council President John Kautz at 7:00 PM in the Apollo Borough Municipal building council chambers.

Present: Council members John Kautz, Diane Bradshaw, Nancy Walker, and Denny Gabrielli. Solicitor Tim Miller was present. Mayor Held was absent. Council members Cheryl Swank, Mark Greenawalt, and Cindee Virostek were absent.

Public Comments: Sqt. Kier and Officer Rial-Sloss were present. There was no public comments.

Solicitor's Report: The 2017 rates of pay for police officers were accepted by the Steelworkers union. There is also a tentative agreement for the OIC to work and be paid by salary for 48 hours working per week. The final details were reviewed by council.

A motion was made by Diane Bradshaw, and seconded by Nancy Walker, to pay the invoices submitted by the solicitor totaling \$900.00. Motion passed unanimously.

Approval of Minutes: A motion was made by Denny Gabrielli, and seconded by Nancy Walker, to approve the minutes from the meetings of 11/19/2016 and 12/8/2016. Motion passed unanimously.

Borough Manager Report: A request by the Zoning officer, Brenda Troup, and was brought to council regarding a property at 702 Armstrong Avenue recommending demolition for the safety of the residents of Apollo. A motion was made by Nancy Walker, and seconded by Denny Gabrielli, to act on the request of the zoning officer by proceeding with the steps required to file a violation under the Unsafe Structure Ordinance. Motion passed unanimously.

Planning Committee Report

Cheryl Swank - Chairman

Public Works & Streets Committee Report:

Mark Greenawalt - Chairman

Public Safety & Public Service Committee Report:

Diane Bradshaw - Chairman

The second meeting with North Apollo regarding a contract for police coverage was cancelled. Diane is waiting to be contacted by the public safety chairman to set up a new meeting date.

Property Committee Report:

Denny Gabrielli - Chairman

Finance Committee Report

John Kautz - Chairman

Approval of items for payment as follows (MTD December 2016):
Garbage Fund – \$7850.32
General Fund (includes payroll) – \$43,592.68
Liquid Fuels Fund – \$7318.38
Sewer Fund – \$10,372.67
Sewer Separation Fund - \$2,395.03
Parking Fund – \$222.22

Total - \$71,751.30

A motion was made by Denny Gabrielli, and seconded by Nancy Walker, to pay all bills, including payroll. The motion passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Denny Gabrielli, and seconded by Diane Bradshaw, to adjourn the meeting.

John 2 Kong John Kautz

Council President

Cynthia McDermott Borough Manager